Roll of Honour


There are still some honourable MPs at Westminster

The scale of the rebellion by MPs on Monday becomes evident from the roll of honour.

This was not a vote by extremists against reason, but a selection of MPs, across the political spectrum, coming together to vote for the wishes of the overwhelming majority of Britons for a referendum on EU Membership. In taking this position all MPs from the three old failed Parties who voted did so in the knowledge that they were voting for the people and not for their career and personal benefit. It was an honourable action that should not be overlooked.


Firetrench Directory

In all, 81 Conservative MPs rebelled against the government. Two acted as tellers for the rebels, while 79 voted in favour of a referendum. A further two MPs voted both Aye and Noe, which counts as an abstention.


Peter Bone (Wellingborough) and Philip Hollobone (Kettering)


Stuart Andrew (Pudsey),

Steven Baker (Wycombe),

John Baron (Basildon & Billericay),

Andrew Bingham (High Peak),

Brian Binley (Northampton South),

Bob Blackman (Harrow East),

Graham Brady (Altrincham & Sale West),

Andrew Bridgen (Leicestershire North West),

Steve Brine (Winchester), Fiona Bruce (Congleton),

Dan Byles (Warwickshire North),

Douglas Carswell (Clacton),

Bill Cash (Stone),

Christopher Chope (Christchurch),

James Clappison (Hertsmere),

Tracey Crouch (Chatham & Aylesford),

David Davies (Monmouth),

Philip Davies (Shipley),

David Davis (Haltemprice & Howden),

Nick de Bois (Enfield North),

Caroline Dinenage (Gosport),

Nadine Dorries (Bedfordshire Mid),

Richard Drax (Dorset South),

Mark Field (Cities of London & Westminster),

Lorraine Fullbrook (South Ribble),

Zac Goldsmith (Richmond Park),

James Gray (Wiltshire North),

Chris Heaton-Harris (Daventry),

Gordon Henderson (Sittingbourne & Sheppey),

George Hollingbery (Meon Valley),

Adam Holloway (Gravesham),

Stewart Jackson (Peterborough),

Bernard Jenkin (Harwich & Essex North),

Marcus Jones (Nuneaton),

Chris Kelly (Dudley South),

Andrea Leadsom (Northamptonshire South),

Jeremy Lefroy (Stafford),

Edward Leigh (Gainsborough),

Julian Lewis (New Forest East),

Karen Lumley (Redditch),

Jason McCartney (Colne Valley),

Karl McCartney (Lincoln),

Stephen McPartland (Stevenage),

Anne Main (St Albans),

Patrick Mercer (Newark),

Nigel Mills (Amber Valley),

Anne-Marie Morris (Newton Abbot),

James Morris (Halesowen & Rowley Regis),

Stephen Mosley (Chester, City of),

Sheryll Murray (Cornwall South East),

Caroline Nokes (Romsey & Southampton North),

David Nuttall (Bury North),

Matthew Offord (Hendon),

Neil Parish (Tiverton & Honiton),

Priti Patel (Witham),

Andrew Percy (Brigg & Goole),

Mark Pritchard (Wrekin, The),

Mark Reckless (Rochester & Strood),

John Redwood (Wokingham),

Jacob Rees-Mogg (Somerset North East),

Simon Reevell (Dewsbury),

Laurence Robertson (Tewkesbury),

Andrew Rosindell (Romford),

Richard Shepherd (Aldridge-Brownhills),

Henry Smith (Crawley),

John Stevenson (Carlisle),

Bob Stewart (Beckenham),

Gary Streeter (Devon South West),

Julian Sturdy (York Outer),

Sir Peter Tapsell (Louth & Horncastle),

Justin Tomlinson (Swindon North),

Andrew Turner (Isle of Wight),

Martin Vickers (Cleethorpes),

Charles Walker (Broxbourne),

Robin Walker (Worcester),

Heather Wheeler (Derbyshire South),

Craig Whittaker (Calder Valley),

John Whittingdale (Maldon),

Dr Sarah Wollaston (Totnes)


Other (voted both Aye and Noe)

Iain Stewart (Milton Keynes South),

Mike Weatherley (Hove)


Labour whips also ordered party members to vote against the referendum, on the basis that it would cause unnecessary economic uncertaintly. Still, 19 MPs defied the party whip and voted in favour of it. They were:

Ronnie Campbell (Blyth Valley),

Rosie Cooper (Lancashire West),

Jeremy Corbyn (Islington North),

Jon Cruddas (Dagenham & Rainham),

John Cryer (Leyton & Wanstead),

Ian Davidson (Glasgow South West),

Natascha Engel (Derbyshire North East),

Frank Field (Birkenhead),

Roger Godsiff (Birmingham Hall Green),

Kate Hoey (Vauxhall),

Kelvin Hopkins (Luton North),

Steve McCabe (Birmingham Selly Oak),

John McDonnell (Hayes & Harlington),

Austin Mitchell (Great Grimsby),

Dennis Skinner (Bolsover),

Andrew Smith (Oxford East),

Graham Stringer (Blackley & Broughton),

Gisela Stuart (Birmingham Edgbaston),

Mike Wood (Batley & Spen).

Liberal Democrats

Although Nick Clegg previously supported an “in/out” referendum (albeit in slightly more nuanced terms), Lib Dems were also ordered to vote against the motion. Just one MP rebelled:

Adrian Sanders (Torbay)

Other parties

Democratic Unionist Party

Eight MPs voted for the referendum:

Gregory Campbell (Londonderry East),

Nigel Dodds (Belfast North),

Jeffrey Donaldson (Lagan Valley),

Rev William McCrea (Antrim South),

Ian Paisley Junior (Antrim North),

Jim Shannon (Strangford),

David Simpson (Upper Bann),

Sammy Wilson (Antrim East)


Independent (Unionist)

Lady Sylvia Hermon (Down North)


Green Party

Caroline Lucas (Brighton Pavilion)

Leave a Reply