IMO and industry review progress on addressing seafarers’ shortage and the scourge of piracy


At the invitation of IMO Secretary-General Efthimios E. Mitropoulos, a meeting took place on 30 March 2009, at the IMO Headquarters, with the participation of representatives of shipping industry bodies (known collectively as the “Round Table of international shipping associations”, i.e. BIMCO, ICS/ISF, INTERCARGO and INTERTANKO), and of the International Transport Workers’ Federation (ITF), to review developments related to:

David Drew MP Announced IWA ‘Parliamentarian of the Year’


The Inland Waterways Association (IWA) has made its 2009 award for ‘Parliamentarian of the Year’ to David Drew, MP for Stroud.

The award was made at an exclusive dinner at the House of Commons yesterday evening (31 March), held on behalf of The Inland Waterways Association, which was hosted by Bob Laxton MP and attended by the Waterways Minister, Huw Irranca-Davies MP and Anne McIntosh MP shadow minister, as well as many leading waterways MPs from all the major parties.

All the MPs present had made significant contributions to the well-being of the waterways during the past year, and there were several leading contenders for the prestigious award.